The Duchy of Skåne

At the council of state on 3 March 2016, The King announced that Prince Oscar would be assigned the Duchy of Skåne.

The Coat of Arms of Skåne Province

The Coat of Arms of Skåne Province

Skåne has been the Duchy on two early occasions: For Prince Karl in the 19th Century who later became King Karl XV, and for Crown Prince Gustav Adolf, later Gustav VI Adolf. Their consorts (Lovisa, Margareta and Louise) were also given the titles of Duchess.


Skåne is Sweden's southernmost province. The province consists mainly of the peninsula formed by the southernmost tip of the Scandinavian peninsula. In the north is it bordered by the provinces of Halland and Småland, in the east by Blekinge and Östersjön, in the south by Östersjön and in the west by the narrow Öresund strait that divides Skåne from Denmark and Kattegatt which is an adjacent sea to the North Sea. Skåne, together with the Danish islands of Själland, Lolland, Falster, Mön and Bornholm, is part of the transnational Öresund region.

Since 1997 the entire province is part of Skåne County, after previously being divided between Malmöhus County and Kristianstad County.

The three largest towns in Skåne are Malmö, Helsingborg and Lund.


Skåne was part of Denmark under Harald Bluetooth in the later part of the 900s, together with Halland, Blekinge and Bornholm; in historic literature it is called Skåneland or the Skåne province.

In the 15th and 16th Centuries, Skåne and Själland together made up the core part of the Danish realm. At the Treaty of Roskilde in 1658, Skåne was transferred to Sweden, however the island of Ven was not transferred until 1660.