Presentation of this year's Nobel Laureates

On Tuesday 5 December, The King and Queen and The Crown Princess held an audience with CEO of the Nobel Foundation Lars Heikensten, Vice Chairman of the Board of the Nobel Foundation Göran K Hansson, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy Sara Danius and Secretary of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine Thomas Perlmann.

During the meeting, The King, The Queen, The Crown Princess and Prince Daniel were given a presentation of the 2017 Nobel Laureates.

The Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne (USA) "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves".

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Jacques Dubochet (Switzerland), Joachim Frank (USA) and Richard Henderson (UK), "for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution".

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young (USA) "for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm".

The Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to Kazuo Ishiguro (UK) "who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world".

The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to ICAN (the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons) "for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons".

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was presented to Richard H. Thaler (USA) "for his contributions to behavioural economics".

Find out more about the 2017 Nobel Laureates here External link, opens in new window..

The Nobel Foundation

The Nobel Foundation was established in 1900, and has financial responsibility for administering Alfred Nobel's donation. The foundation provides the funding for the prizes, but does not take part in the selection process. The foundation deals with all the practical arrangements in connection with the prize-giving ceremony and the subsequent banquet.

Nobel Committees

The responsibility for appointing Nobel Laureates is distributed between various institutions. For example, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awards the prizes in physics and chemistry, while the Swedish Academy awards the prize in literature. Each institution elects a Nobel Committee to carry out the nomination and investigation work.