The King presents the Crafoord Prize in Polyarthritis

Motiv: The King presents the Crafoord Prize to (from left) Peter K. Gregersen, Lars Klareskog and Robert J. Winchester. Photo: Henrik Montgomery/Scanpix
On Thursday 2 May, The King presented the 2013 Crafoord Prize in Polyarthritis to Peter K. Gregersen from the Feinstein Institute for Medical Research, USA, Lars Klareskog from Karolinska Institutet and Robert J. Winchester from Columbia University, USA.

The prize was awarded "for their discoveries concerning the role of different genetic factors and their interactions with environmental factors in the pathogenesis, diagnosis and clinical management of rheumatoid arthritis".
The award ceremony took place at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm.
About the Crafoord Prize
Anna-Greta and Holger Crafoord established a fund in 1980, and the first Crafoord Prize was awarded in 1982. The aim of the prize is to promote basic research within astronomy and mathematics, geosciences, biosciences (with a particular emphasis on ecology) and polyarthritis (e.g. rheumatoid arthritis).
Find out more about the Crafoord Prize External link, opens in new window.