The Royal Mews boasts unbroken history since the time of Gustav Vasa and preserves a unique cultural heritage with its carriage park, historic uniforms and harnesses.
The Royal Mews continues a several hundred year-old tradition and helps keep the classic horse and carriage and equipage culture alive. The Crown Equerry and Head of the Royal Mews is Mertil Melin.
Previous locationThe Royal Mews was previously located at Helgeandsholmen, where the Swedish parliamentary buildings are situated today. Palace architect Nicodemus Tessin the Younger built them there in 1697. Some 200 years later they were demolished to make way for the Riksdag building.
Historic buildingThe Royal Mews today is located in the centre of the city in Östermalm. It was built in 1890-1894 under the direction of architect Fritz Eckert, with place architect Ernst Jakobsson as construction manager. Today the brick complex is a highly appreciated building and has been declared a historic building.
Just over a hundred years ago, just about 100 horses were stabled in the Royal Mews at the centre of the city. Today, approximately 30 horses are kept in the stables, including a few horses belonging to private citizens.