The King and Queen congratulate the Öland Inhabitant of the Year

On Tuesday 7 July, The King presented the Solliden Award to the Öland Inhabitant of the Year, floorball player Kim Nilsson, during a ceremony at Solliden Palace on Öland. The Queen also took part in the prize-giving ceremony.

The Solliden Award is presented to "an individual who has made a remarkable contribution or performance within a specialist field, or who has taken actions or initiatives that promote the interests and development of the island, or who has made long-term efforts for the benefit of Öland".

This year's Solliden Award was presented to floorball player Kim Nilsson, who has been named the world's best floorball player.

The King and Queen took part in the ceremony, which was led by Odd Zschiedrich. Kalle Johansson, who took part in Melodifestivalen 2015, provided entertainment in connection with the ceremony.

About the Solliden Award

The Solliden Award in recognition of the Öland Inhabitant of the Year was first presented in 1980 to Anna Rydstedt. The King was awarded the prize in 1996.

The most recent winners are:

  • 2010 Anna Barkevall
  • 2011 Anne Wilks
  • 2012 Lasse Trofast
  • 2013 Per Hallberg
  • 2014 Arne Svensson